Groveport Nature Center
|Other Link||Community Affairs Department|
- Classes & Programs
Explore the wonder of the natural world through occasional hands-on programs and educational displays designed to engage and educate your entire family.
Located in the Park’s historic Log House at 551 Wirt Road, the Groveport Nature Center regularly provides programming at no charge. Programs include science topics, pioneer life, natural science and seasonal activities. Nature Center classes are coordinated by the Community Affairs Department in Groveport Town Hall and presented by either the Groveport Program Coordinator or a Metro Parks staff person.
Heritage Park is a 15-acre historical park situated on the site of the Ohio and Erie Canal which served as the primary transportation route for the region from 1831 - 1900. Because of the historical significance of Heritage Park, the Groveport Nature Center offers special tours that explore local Groveport history. These tours are approximately one hour in length. The park includes a two-story Log House built in 1815, a hand-built stage, two shelter houses and Palm’s Pond. Adjacent to the Park is Groveport Cemetery with gravestones dating from 1809.
This canal starts at Blacklick Park, the original site of Groveport’s dry dock and boat yard. You can take the path through the park’s wooded areas to Groveport’s Canal Lock and discover the Lock’s importance in the growth of Franklin County.
History of Nature Center
In 1974, the U.S. Postal Service purchased a lot and its house at Madison and Main Streets in the Village of Groveport for a new post office. Prior to the house’s demolition, postal officials discovered that the house was built of rough-hewn logs and subsequently offered the structure to the fledgling Groveport Heritage and Preservation Society.
Through the assistance of the U.S. Army Reserves, the house was relocated from Main Street to its current location in Heritage Park, 551 Wirt Road.
The Log House was originally two separate structures: a two-story residence built around 1815, and a smaller structure built around 1825 to serve as the summer kitchen. The larger room now serves as a rental and program facility; the smaller room serves as the city’s Nature Center, operated by the city’s Community Affairs Department in collaboration with MetroParks.
As the anchor for Heritage Park, the Log House now serves as the site for summer concerts and outdoor movies in a nearby performance center, picnics in an outdoor shelter at the adjacent Palms Pond and Apple Butter Day, a festival commemorating the pioneer spirit which built Groveport.
The Nature Center is open when our Program Coordinator or Metro Parks have programs at Heritage Park. For additional information on Groveport Nature Center, please call Groveport Town Hall at 614-836-3333.